Michigan High Risk Auto Insurance
Auto insurance in Michigan can be obtained from local several companies that have been licensed to sell and underwrite insurance policies. Some of the more common insurance providers that will generally provide Michigan high risk auto insurance include companies such as State Farm, Progressive, Nationwide, Geico, Direct General, and the Hartford.
Michigan follows a no fault system for dealing with accidents, meaning that your insurance will pay your "reasonable and necessary" medical expenses up to a certain amount and cover your property damage. In order to assure drivers have adequate no fault protection in the event of an accident, certain minimums have been enacted by the state. In order to meet the state mandated minimum coverage requirements in Michigan, a policy must provide Bodily Injury Liability coverage of $20,000 per individual up to a total of $40,000 per accident, Property damage liability of $10,000, Property Protection Insurance of $1,000,000, Personal Injury Protection (PIP) to cover medical costs, and PIP to cover work loss.
By law, drivers in Michigan must have a certificate of insurance from their insurance company in the vehicle at all times. If stopped by a police officer for any reason, regardless of whether or not an accident is involved, you must show the officer this insurance certificate. Failure to have adequate proof of insurance in the vehicle can result in the immediate suspension of one's driver's license as well as other penalties that can come into play if there is not an active insurance policy for the vehicle. Understanding the Michagan auto insurance rules will help you avoid the need for high risk auto insurance